Here is the list of the Department of Justice (DOJ) agencies. According to their official website they have a total of ten (10) agencies.

Please refer to the list below for more details.

List of Department of Justice Agencies

1. BUREAU OF CORRECTIONS - The Bureau of Corrections (BuCor) is charged with custody and rehabilitation of national offenders, that is, those sentenced to serve a term of imprisonment of more than three (3) years.

2. BUREAU OF IMMIGRATION - In accordance with the Revised Administrative Code of 1987, the Commission on Immigration and Deportation was renamed BUREAU OF IMMIGRATION as it is more properly called today. Under this code the Bureau is composed of three (3) structural units namely: the Office of the Commissioner, the Board of Commissioners, and the Board of Special Inquiry. These groups act as collegial bodies and exercises quasi-judicial powers affecting the entry and stay of foreign nationals in the country.

3. NATIONAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION - The main objective of the National Bureau of Investigation is the establishment and maintenance of a modern, effective and efficient investigative service and research agency for the purpose of implementing fully principal functions provided under Republic Act No. 157, as amended.

4. PAROLE AND PROBATION ADMINISTRATION - The Parole and Probation Administration (PPA) provides a less costly alternative to imprisonment of offenders who are likely to respond to individualized community based treatment programs.

5. PRESIDENTIAL COMMISSION ON GOOD GOVERNMENT - The Presidential Commission on Good Government shall be charged with the task of assisting the President in the recovery of ill-gotten wealth accumulated by former President Ferdinand E. Marcos, his immediate family, relatives, subordinates and close associates, whether located in the Philippines or abroad, including the takeover or sequestration of all business enterprises and entities owned or controlled by them, during his administration, directly or through nominees, by taking undue advantage of their public office and/or using their powers, authority, influence, connection or relationship; the investigation of such cases of graft and corruption as the President may assign to the Commission from time to time; and the adoption of safeguards to ensure that the above practices shall not be repeated in any manner under the new government, and the institution of adequate measures to prevent the occurrence of corruption.

6. PUBLIC ATTORNEY'S OFFICE - The Public Attorney's Office exists to provide the indigent litigants, the oppressed, marginalized and underprivileged members of the society free access to courts, judicial and quasi-judicial agencies, by rendering legal services, counseling and assistance in consonance with the Constitutional mandate that  free access to courts shall not be denied to any person by reason of poverty in order to ensure the rule of law, truth and social justice as components of the country's sustainable development.

7. OFFICE FOR ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION - To promote, develop and expand the use of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) in the private and public sectors; and, to assist government to monitor, study and evaluate the sue by the public and the private sector of ADR, and recommend to Congress needful statutory changes to develop, strengthen and improve ADR practices in accordance with world standards.

8. OFFICE OF THE GOVERNMENT CORPORATE COUNSEL - The Office of the Government Corporate Counsel (OGCC) was founded on December 01, 1935 as a Government Counsel Division under the Department of Justice (DOJ). Todate, it has emerged as the premier law office of government-owned and controlled corporations (GOCCs), their subsidiaries, other corporate offsprings and government-acquired asset corporations.

9. OFFICE OF THE SOLICITOR GENERAL - The Office of the Solicitor General which is an independent and autonomous office attached to the Department of Justice for budgetary purposes is the legal representative of the Government of the republic of the Philippines, its agencies and instrumentalities and its officials and agents in any litigation, proceeding investigation or matter requiring the services of a lawyer before the local court systems or international fora.

10. LAND REGISTRATION AUTHORITY - The Land Registration Authority is mandated to issue decrees of registration and certificates of titles and register documents, patents and other land transactions for the benefit of landowners, Agrarian Reform-beneficiaries and the registering public in general; to provide a secure, stable and trustworthy record of land ownership and recorded interests therein so as to promote social and economic well-being and contribute to national development.


If this article helped you, share this in your friends on Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Just click any of the buttons above. Sharing is giving. Salamat po!